What is a research poster, anyway?

That’s what I’m trying to outline for a video series I’m working on, focusing on creating research posters.  And it’s turning out to be a weird question to answer – I mean, a research poster is pretty much a poster telling the story of some research, right?

It’s more than that, though.  It can serve as an abstract for your research.  It can highlight research methods for a project that’s in process.  It can stand in lieu of a presentation, or it can accompany you and help you tell the story of your research paper as you present.  It can help pique people’s interest, and get them caring about your research, or it can drive people away if it’s not designed well.

The designing is where my strengths come into play in this series – I love desktop publishing.  I could ramble on and on about how to lay out a poster in the perfect ways to get people interested and reading it.  I could go on forever about how to use contrast to grab attention, and proportion to make important items stand out.  But I only get one video to talk about that in this series – so I might just have to ramble about that here.

And I still have to talk about what a research poster is, and why you’d want to create one.  That’s where I’m at right now.  My notes are short and ridiculous, and I’m drawing a blank on things here.  Maybe I’ll go work on the layout and design video outline for a bit, and see if I can answer the question “what is a research poster?” in more detail than “it displays information on research”.

Leave a Reply

